EuroVis Best Ph.D. Dissertation Award

The EuroVis Best Ph.D. Dissertation Award recognizes outstanding dissertations in academic research and development over topics relevant to visualization. The intent of this award is to recognize excellent young researchers in their early career and to highlight visualization research. The award is managed by the Best Ph.D. dissertation committee, constituted by a Chair appointed by the EuroVis Steering Committee.


Eligibility includes PhDs from the European visualization community (e.g., through contributions to the EuroVis conference) that defended and get awarded the degree of Doctor from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020. There is no limitation on the number of nominations that may be made by a university.


The student’s advisor should email the nomination package to (t.b.a.); it should contain:

  1. A nomination letter written by the student’s advisor including the name, email address and CV of the candidate, a one-page summary of the significance of the dissertation
  2. A copy of the dissertation
  3. Optional additional letters of recommendation can also be attached

Deadline for nominations is January 15, 2020.

Additional info is available on the EuroVis Ph.D. Award page at the EG website.

EuroVis Young Researcher Award

The EuroVis Young Researcher Award is given each year to one young researcher in the field who has already made a significant contribution to visualization in general and more specifically to the European visualization community (e.g., through outstanding scientific contributions to the EuroVis conference). The intent of this award is to recognize people early on in their career who have already made a notable contribution and are likely to make more.


Members of the visualization research community may nominate individuals for the EuroVis Young Researcher Award by contacting the awards chair, Eduard Gröller. Candidates for the EuroVis Young Researcher Award 2021 must have finished their Ph.D. in 2015 or later.

Deadline for nominations is January 15, 2021.

Additional info on the EuroVis Young Researcher Award page at the EG website.

Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine 2021
(Eurographics Medical Prize)

Submission Deadline: February 12, 2021
Reviews Due: March 19, 2021
Notification: March 26, 2021
Camera-ready Deadline: April 23, 2021

The Eurographics Association organizes a biannual competition, to acknowledge the contribution of computer graphics and visualization techniques in the medical field, and to encourage further development. Originally called “Eurographics Medical Prize”, the competition was renamed to “Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine” in 2010—in honor of Dirk Bartz, who passed away in March 2010. Dirk Bartz was a highly recognized and enthusiastic scientist, teacher and promoter of Visual Computing in Medicine; furthermore, he was an active member of the Eurographics Association, and Chair of the EG Medical Prize, in 2007 and 2009. Before, the prize was collocated with the Eurographics Conference, and since this year it will be collocated with EuroVis.


Submissions to the Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine 2021 are being invited from researchers and developers, who can demonstrate that a particular benefit in a medical application has resulted from the use of visual computing technology that they have produced/developed. We welcome submissions from all areas of visual computing—examples include the use of new data visualization techniques, interaction methods, or virtual/augmented environments. Entries typically summarize a body of research and/or development that has been conducted over the course of a project, PhD thesis, etc. and particular weight is put on demonstrating the medical impact of the work.


The top three winning entries of the Dirk Bartz Prize for Visual Computing in Medicine 2021 will receive a prize and their submission will be published in the “Short Papers and Medical Prize Awards” digital media proceedings, and in the EG Digital Library. The judging panel will select the winning entry on the basis of its clinical value, use of visual computing methods, and novelty. All three winning teams will have an opportunity to present their results at EuroVis 2021, which means that at least one author of each winning team must register and attend, to present the results.

The Hall of Fame documents previous recipients of the prize.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions will be made electronically through the Precision Conference System

Submitted written entries have to be prepared as papers of up to 4 pages (+1 extra page for references) and must be formatted according to the conference template.

The submission of complementary material like videos, demo applications, and references to additional publications of the authors, theses, etc. is highly welcome.


Steffen Oeltze-Jafra, University of Magdeburg, Germany
Renata Georgia Raidou, University of Groningen, the Netherland

For any question concerning medical prize submissions please contact the medical prize co-chairs at:

International Jury